The Ginger Experiment

Currently accepting suggestions for a name…

Some weeks ago, there was a sale on fresh ginger root at my local grocery store. I bought quite a bit to freeze, but, being inspired by a recently-viewed youtube video of a person propagating a ginger plant from a node, I decided to give it a shot.

I used the pot that once housed a struggling dieffenbachia sprout that was from a parent plant which I – unfortunately – gradually and accidentally killed. The pot now being vacant, I snapped off a few nodes from my ginger root and nestled them in the dirt.

Nothing happened.

I accidentally let it dry out quite a bit…a few times. Then I would water it.

Still nothing happened.

Until – the temperature warmed.

Feeling disheartened, I dug around in the pot, looking for any signs of life. Lo and behold….some green.

I fetched my watering can and gave the pot a soak. Life! I had created life! Well, at least….helped it to continue.

Finally – a small green point, sticking up from the dirt. And over a matter of just a few days, the point has grown several inches.

My only concern now is accidentally killing it – I’m afraid that the newly-installed air conditioner may be detrimental to its happiness as a tropical plant. Perhaps when the nights are more consistently warm I shall take it outside.

I hope to provide a positive update on its thrivation in a month, and not a memoriam.

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment